Horror Short Story Collection: A Blood of Killers

Horror Short Stories

Gerard Houarner and Crossroad Press have reprinted the first book in The Resurrection Cycle — called The Beast That Was Max — about an assassin named Max and the demon that lives to kill and resides inside of him.

Now they’ve reprinted A Blood of Killers, a collection of horror short stories with the origin story of Max and twelve original stories that take place in the time between his origin and The Beast that was Max.

You don’t need to have read the Resurrection Cycle to enjoy the Max stories, which Mr. Houarner collectively calls “The Twelve Fucked Up Jobs” or TFUJ for short.

Remember, if you are interested in this book, click the mouse on the icon below the book summary to order it from an online bookseller through an affiliate link.

A Blood of Killers is a horror Short Story collection by Gerard Houarner

A Blood of Killers

Editors: Houarner, Gerard
Cover Art: Dan Verkys
Format: Digital eBook
Type: Horror Short Story Collection
Page Count: 256pp.
Pub. Date: April 16, 2012
Publisher: Crossroad Press
Original Pub: November 2009 (Hardcover — Necro Publications)

Prolific horror author Houarner (The Oz Suite) assembles a disturbing collection of 13 reprints and 12 originals.

Most of the tales highlighting his twisted supernatural assassin, Max (featured in 2001’s The Beast That Was Max), are brief, but “Like Smoke Rising from the Burning Ghats” offers detailed descriptions of a young boy in Calcutta becoming something monstrous, and the novella “Dancing with the Skeletons at the Feast of the Dead” is almost symphonic in its depiction of brutality in a small Mexican village.

The other stories are no less dark: in “Let Me Tell You a Story,” a babysitter manipulates her charges into committing acts of evil, while “The Shape” is a harsh tale of mental illness and abuse. The bleakness might turn off some readers, but fans of intense, psychology-driven horror and sharp writing will be more than satisfied.

Table of Contents:

  • Like Smoke Rising From the Burning Ghats (The “birth” of Max)
  • A Blood of Killers
  • The Hard Kill (original Max, TFUJ)
  • Do Nothing Till Your Hear From Me (original Max, TFUJ)
  • Let Me Tell You a Story
  • Comes Love, Nothing Can Be Done (original Max, TFUJ)
  • Assassin of Love (original Max, TFUJ)
  • Painted Faces
  • Ghost Killer (original Max, TFUJ)
  • Dead Man’s Park
  • The Soft Package (original Max, TFUJ)
  • Hidden Agendas
  • The Shape
  • The Shadow of his Killer (original Max, TFUJ)
  • The Haunted Killing Floor (original Max, TFUJ)
  • The Keeper
  • She Who Speaks for the Dead
  • Through Love’s Sight (original Max, TFUJ)
  • You Think You’re a Killer (original Max, TFUJ)
  • Nests
  • Suspect City
  • Ash Man
  • The Mule (original Max, TFUJ)
  • Say No
  • Dancing With the Skeletons at the Feast of the Dead (original Max, TFUJ)
  • The Man Who Wouldn’t Die (original Max, TFUJ)
  • Afterword
Amazon.com online bookstore April 2012 (Kindle — Crossroad Press)
Barnes and Noble online bookstore April 2012 (NOOK Book — Crossroad Press)
Smashwords online bookstore April 2012 (ebook — Crossroad Press)
Crossroad Press online bookstore April 2012 (ebook — Crossroad Press)

Gerard Houarner's A Blood of Killers is a collection of horror short stories

Comments on this entry are closed.